• Guest, we are doing a new map (refresh) for Herocraft. Gather your friends and get ready! Coming next Friday, 06/28/24 @ 7PM CT play.hc.to
    Read up on the guides and new systems! Here.
    View the LIVE Map here @ hc.to/map
    Stuck or have a problem? use "/pe create" to to open a ticket with staff (There are some known issues and other hotfixes we will be pushing asap)
  • Guest, Make sure to use our LAUNCHER! Read more here!

Suggestion Limit Rangers' Track

Which Option

• Total voters

Roadkill909

ICE ICE ICE!
My major issue with Track is that Rangers are basically omnipotent. They can sit safely from home barking out coordinates every two minutes. Meanwhile the poor target, kilometers away, has no warning that they have been targeted by a bloodthirsty high-level party led by an all-knowing being.

I also think combat classes should be for combat, and professions should be for making money. That and few combat specs have profitable skills. Track in its current state, I'm sure is a fairly profitable skill. However this is only a secondary argument and not the focus of this discussion.

I'm sure many people have enjoyed their short semi-carefree ranger-free time on the server and aren't looking forward to being hunted down. So here are my solutions, that let rangers keep their skill but balance its functionality:

Compass Option: Track would grab the coordinates like normal, but instead of giving them to the ranger, the ranger's compass would point to where the player was when the skill was called. This limits the money making part of track, and means the ranger has to get in harm's way and accompany their client.
Edit: Typing the command "/skill track" with no arguments would reset the compass. Also to buff this it could also give the ranger a very rough distance like (500m, 1km, 2km, etc)